State of South Carolina

SC State Board of Financial Institutions
Consumer Finance Division
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 734-2020
Fax: (803) 734-2025
www.consumerfinance.sc.qov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR A CHECK CASHING LEVEL I AND LEVEL Il LICENSE

Pursuant to SC 834-41-20 (a) No person or other entity may engage in the business of either Level | or Level
Il check-cashing service without first obtaining a license pursuant to this chapter. No person or other entity
providing a Level I or Level 1l check-cashing service may avoid the requirements of this chapter by
providing a check or other currency equivalent instead of currency when cashing payment instruments.

Pursuant to SC 834-41-10(3) “Level I check-cashing service” means any person or entity engaged in the
business of cashing checks, drafts, or money orders for a fee, service charge, or other consideration. This
license type can only be applied for if deferred presentment license is obtained.

Pursuant to SC 834-41-10(4) “Level Il check-cashing service” means any person or entity engaged in the
business of cashing checks, drafts, or money orders for a fee, service charge, or other consideration. A Level
Il licensee may not be licensed to engage in the business of deferred presentment.

The original Level I or Level 11 Check Cashing application form and all attachments must be mailed to the
Division. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant. The application must be submitted with
original signatures. The application cannot be a photocopy, submitted electronically or by facsimile
transmission. Send the application fee of $250.00 (non-refundable) and the investigation fee of $500.00(non-
refundable) for each application. One check may be submitted for $750.00 payable to the Consumer Finance
Division. Money orders or checks (in the applicant’s name) are acceptable forms of payment.

Mailing Address:

SC Board of Financial Institutions
Consumer Finance Division
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306
Columbia, SC 29201
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APPLICATION FOR LEVEL IOR LEVEL I

CHECK CASHING LICENSE ASSign for |nV€Stigati0n
Pursuant to Title 34-41-10 Code of Laws of South Carolina

http://www.scstatehouse.gov

**ONLY ONE LICENSE PER APPLICATION**

Check the box for the license that you wish to apply for.

Level I Check Cashing -  Regular check cashing

Operating in a Deferred Presentment office
No sale of goods allowed

To apply, must also apply for Deferred
Presentment license on separate form

Level Il Check Cashing -  Regular check cashing

No Deferred Presentment allowed
OK to sell goods and services

The application must be printed legibly or completed using the PDF form. The form with original signatures must be
mailed to the Consumer Finance Division at the address listed above.

(1) Name of applicant (Corporation, Partnership or Individual, etc.):

Phone: FAX: Email:

(2) Mailing address of applicant:

(3) Operating name and street address of business to be conducted under license herein applied for (if applying for more
than one location, attach a list of the addresses to be licensed:

(4) Name and address of person or agent in South Carolina upon whom process may be served :
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(5) Attach a current managerial chart. For each officer, director, partner, office manager or anyone
with a 5% or more ownership in the business submit the following: full name, official title, residence address, business
address, date of birth, social security number and other occupation (if any). Please provide information for the past 5
years. If additional space is needed attach a separate sheet.

(6) Has this corporation or any person listed in item (5) been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving fraud,
misrepresentation, or deceit in the last ten years. Yesor No (If yes, give details):

(7) Has this corporation or any person listed in item (5) been the subject of any proceeding in this or any other state, to
cancel, suspend or revoke a lending license or any proceeding in which a regulatory authority or law enforcement

agency alleged a violation of state or federal law? Yes or No (If yes, give details):

(8) Does any member, officer, director or employee of your organization have an interest in or a connection with any
other license issued by this office?

(9) Give full details of any business, other than check cashing or deferred presentment, which will be conducted in
this office:

(10) Person to be contacted who has complete knowledge of this application and can answer all inquiries:
A. Name:

B. Address:

C. Phone: Fax: E-Mail:

(11) Give name, address, email and fax /phone number of a person to send any future complaints that may be filed by
a consumer concerning this company.

Name:
Address:

Phone: Fax: E-mail:
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(12) List the states in which the applicant/parent/holding company provides financial services under any name in any state.
(If not licensed in any other state, write NOT OPERATING IN ANY OTHER STATE.)

For each state listed, complete the Request for Information Form. This form is downloadable on the Division’s website
www.consumerfinance.sc.gov. On the “Instructions to Applicant” page enter the state, sign, and date. On the “Request for
information on Applicant” page enter the name, address, state, date licensed, expiration date, license number and the type
of license as the company is licensed in the other state(s). (Note: The bottom portion #1-8 will be completed by the state
agency the company is licensed in.) Send the forms to each appropriate state along with a postage paid envelope addressed
to Consumer Finance Division, 1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306, Columbia, SC 29201. (Note: Current licensees requesting
additional licenses must resubmit the Request for Information form every 2 years).

(13) Attach a copy of one of the following:
1. Corporate Charter if incorporated
2. Operating Agreement and Articles of Organization ifa LLC
3. Partnership Agreement if partnership

(14) Attach a copy of a Certificate of Authority to do business in South Carolina issued by the South Carolina Secretary of
State. 803-734-2158.

(15) Attach a current financial statement and a current bank statement (within 30 days) showing liquid assets of at least
$50,000 are available for operation of business in South Carolina for each application submitted. Funds cannot
be comingled with lottery funds and the applicant must maintain the $50,000 as long as the license is held. The
bank statement must be in the applicant’s name and include the following: Date, Bank name, Bank address, city,
state, and zip, account holder name, last 4 digits of account number, account holder address, city, state, and zip,
and liquid assets of $50,000 for each application submitted. (Printed copies from the internet that does not include
the above will not be acceptable.)

(16) Submit the Federal Identification Number if Corporation, LLC or Partnership. Social Security number if Sole-
Proprietorship.

(17) Attach an original signed Authorization to Release Information form on all owners/control persons.
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(18) Attach a copy of a completed Maximum Fee Charge Form. Pursuant to SC §34-41-60(A): Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, a check-cashing service licensed pursuant to this chapter may not directly or indirectly charge or collect
fees or other consideration for check-cashing services in excess of the following:

(1) Two percent (2%) of the face amount of the check or three dollars ($3.00), whichever is greater, for checks issued by the
federal government, state government, or any agency of the state or federal government, or any county or municipality of
this State;

(2) Two percent (2%) of the face amount of the check or three dollars ($3.00), whichever is greater, for printed payroll
checks. For purposes of this item, "'printed” means type written, electronically generated, or computer generated; and

(3) Seven percent (7%) of the face amount of the check or five dollars ($5.00), whichever is greater, for all other checks,
including handwritten payroll checks, or for money orders.

(19) Submit an application fee (non-refundable) of $250.00 for each application. Submit an investigation fee
(non-refundable) of $500.00 for each application. One check may be submitted for $750.00 payable to the
Consumer Finance Division.

(20) Personal Reference Letters: If the applicant does not currently hold a check cashing license with the Division,
personal reference letters will be required.
* Two (2) letters for each control person if the applicant is a Corporation or LLC.
* Three (3) letters if the applicant is a partnership or sole proprietor.

The letter must be in writing and include the name and address of the person providing the reference. The
following should be included in the letter:

1. A paragraph or sentence that explains how reference provider knows the applicant and
the duration of their relationship.

2. A summary that explains why the reference provider would recommend the applicant
and to what degree they would recommend them.

A reference letter cannot be from a relative and must be submitted with the license application.

(21) Give name and address where the license is to be sent:
Operating Name:

Contact Person:

Address:

City, State, Zip:
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For applicants operating as a sole proprietor, complete the following:

ANY FALSE OR MISLEADING ANSWERS TO ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS SHALL BE GROUNDS FOR
REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE.

Signed this day of 20
NOTARY PUBLIC: APPLICANT:
(Signature) (Signature)
(PRINT NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC) (PRINT NAME AND TITLE)

My Notary Commission expires

For applicants operating as a corporation or LLC, complete the following:
PROBATE

IN THE STATE OF

IN THE COUNTY OF

being duly sworn, deposes and says that he signed the foregoing application

(Name of Person Signing Application)

as of the above named applicant, having full authority to sign such application
(Job Title of Person Signing Application)

in said capacity; that he has read said application and that the information contained therein is true as he verily believes.

(Signature of Applicant)

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20

(Notary Public)
(NOTARY SEAL)

(Print Name of Notary Public)
My Notary Commission expires
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