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State of South Carolina 
SC State Board of Financial Institutions 

Consumer Finance Division 
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306 

Columbia, SC  29201 
Phone: (803) 734-2020 

Fax: (803) 734-2025 
www.consumerfinance.sc.gov 

 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR A DEFERRED PRESENTMENT LICENSE  
 

 
Deferred presentment services means a transaction pursuant to a written agreement involving the 
following combination of activities in exchange for a fee:  
(a) accepting a check dated on the date it was written;  and  
(b) holding the check for a period of time before presentment for payment or deposit.  
 
 “Check” means a check signed by the maker and made payable to a person licensed pursuant to this 
chapter.  The name of the maker must be preprinted on the face of the check.  “Counter checks” and 
checks without the name of the maker preprinted on the face of the check may not be accepted by a 
licensee.  
 
The location of a Deferred Presentment office must be completely separated from any space where goods 
or services are sold or leased. The location must be separately staffed and must not have a common 
entrance with any other business.  
 
The original Deferred Presentment application form and all attachments must be mailed to the Division.  
A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant. The application must be submitted with original 
signatures. The application cannot be a photocopy, submitted electronically or by facsimile transmission. 
Send the application fee of $1,000.00 and the investigation fee of $500.00 for each application. One check 
may be submitted for $1500.00 payable to the Consumer Finance Division. Money orders or checks (in 
the applicant’s name) are acceptable forms of payment.  
 
 
 
 

Mailing Address: 
SC Board of Financial Institutions 

Consumer Finance Division 
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306 

Columbia, SC  29201 
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
BOARD OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 
CONSUMER FINANCE DIVISION 
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306, Columbia, SC 29201 
Phone 803-734-2020 Fax 803-734-2025 
www.consumerfinance.sc.gov 

 

Deferred Presentment Services 
Application for a License  
Pursuant to Title 34-39-110 Code of Laws of South Carolina 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov 
 
 
The application must be printed legibly or completed using the PDF form. The form with original signatures must be 
mailed to the Consumer Finance Division at the address listed above.  
 
 
(1)    Name of applicant (Corporation, Partnership or Individual, etc.):   
 
 
 
         Phone:                                           Fax:                                                Email: 
 
(2)    Mailing address of applicant: 
 
 
 
 
(3)    Name and street address of business to be conducted under license herein applied for: 
 
 
 
 
 
(4)    Name and address of person or agent in South Carolina upon whom process may be served: 
 
 
 
(5)   Attach a current managerial chart. For each officer, director, partner, office manager or anyone with a 5% or  
        more ownership in the business submit the following:  full name, official title, residence address, business address,  
        date of birth, social security number and other occupation (if any). Please provide information for the past 5 years.  
        If additional space is needed attach a separate sheet.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SCBFI Office Use Only 
 
Check #______Check Amt. $__________ 
 
Master App Log#_____CK Log#________ 
 
Process:___________________________ 
 
Assign for Investigation___________ 
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(6)   Has this corporation or any person listed in item (5) been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor  
        involving fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit during the last ten years? Yes or No (If yes, give details)  
 
 
 
 
(7)   Has this corporation or any person listed in item (5) been the subject of any proceeding in this or any  
        other state, to cancel, suspend or revoke a lending license or any proceeding in which a regulatory 
        authority or law enforcement agency alleged a violation of state or federal law? Yes or No (If yes, give  
        details).   
 
 
 
(8)   Does any member, officer, director or employee of your organization have an interest in or a  
       connection with any other license issued by this office?  Yes or No   (If yes, give details).   
 
 
 
(9)   Give full details of any business activity, other than deferred presentment, which will be conducted in 
        this office.  
 
 
 
(10)  Person to be contacted who has complete knowledge of this application and can answer all  inquiries: 
          Name: 
 
              Address: 
 
          Phone:                                                                 Fax: 
  
          Email:  
 

 
(11)  Attach a copy of one of the following: 
         1. Corporate Charter if incorporated. 
         2. Operating Agreement and Articles of Organization if a LLC. 
         3. Partnership Agreement if partnership. 
 
 
(12)  Attach a copy of the Certificate of Authority to do business in SC issued by the SC Secretary of State.  
         803-734-2158. 

 
(13)  Attach a current financial statement and an official bank statement (within 30 days) showing liquid  
         assets of at least $25,000 are available for operation of business in South Carolina for each application 
         submitted. The bank statement must be in the applicant’s name and include the following: Date, Bank 
         name, Bank address, city, state, and zip, account holder name, last 4 digits of account number, account 
         holder address, city, state, and zip, and liquid assets of $25,000 for  each  application submitted. (Printed 
         copies from the internet that does not include the above will not be acceptable.) 
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(14) Submit an application fee (non-refundable) of $1,000.00 for each application. Submit an investigation fee 
        (non-refundable) of $500.00 for each application. One check may be submitted for $1,500.00 payable to  
        the Consumer Finance Division. 
 
(15)  Personal Reference Letters:  If the applicant does not currently hold a deferred presentment license with the  
         Division, personal reference letters will be required. 

*  Two (2) letters for each control person if the applicant is a Corporation or LLC. 
*  Three (3) letters if the applicant is a partnership or sole proprietor. 

            
 

The letter must be in writing and include the name and address of the person providing the reference. 
 The following should be included in the letter:  
 
  1. A paragraph or sentence that explains how reference provider knows the applicant and  
      the duration of their relationship. 
      
  2. A summary that explains why the reference provider would recommend the applicant  
      and to what degree they would recommend them. 
  
 A reference letter cannot be from a relative and must be submitted with the license application.  
 
 
 
 (16) List the states in which the applicant/parent/holding company provides financial services under any name in any 
state. (If not licensed in any other state, write NOT OPERATING IN ANY OTHER STATE.)   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For each state listed, complete the Request for Information Form. This form is downloadable on the Division’s website 
www.consumerfinance.sc.gov.  On the “Instructions to Applicant” page enter the state, sign, and date. On the “Request 
for information on Applicant” page enter the name, address, state, date licensed, expiration date, license number and 
the type of license as the company is licensed in the other state(s). (Note: The bottom portion #1-8 will be completed by 
the state agency the company is licensed in.)  Send the forms to each appropriate state along with a postage paid 
envelope addressed to Consumer Finance Division, 1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 306, Columbia, SC 29201.  (Note: 
Current licensees requesting additional licenses must resubmit the Request for Information form every 2 years). 
 
 
(17)  Submit name, address, email and fax/phone number of a person to send any future complaints that may   
         be filed by a consumer concerning this company. 
 
         Name: 
 
         Address: 
 
         Phone:                                                                                 Fax: 
 
         Email: 
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(18)  Submit an original signed Authorization to Release Information form on all owners/control persons. 
 
(19)  Submit a completed Location Inspection form. Do not submit this form until location is ready to be inspected. 
 
(20)  Submit a copy of the lease agreement for location listed on Line (3). 
 
(21)  Submit Federal Identification Number if corporation, LLC or partnership. Submit Social Security Number if  
         sole-proprietorship. 
 
 
 (22)  Submit a copy of a completed Deferred Presentment and/or Regular Check Cashing Maximum Fee Charge Form.  
          
        Deferred Presentment only §34-39-180(E):  
              A licensee shall not charge, directly or indirectly, a fee or other consideration in excess of fifteen percent (15%) of the 
              Principal amount of the transaction for accepting a check for deferred presentment or deposit. 
 
 
        Deferred Presentment and check cashing level 1 §34-41-60(A)(1)(2)(3): 
              Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a check-cashing service licensed pursuant to this chapter may not directly or 
              indirectly charge or collect fees or other consideration for check-cashing services in excess of the following: 
 
                (1) Two percent (2%) of the face amount of the check or three dollars ($3.00), whichever is greater, for checks issued by the 
                     federal government, state government, or any agency of the state or federal government, or any county or municipality 
                     of this State; 
                (2) Two percent (2%) of the face amount of the check or three dollars ($3.00), whichever is greater, for printed payroll 
                     checks. For purposes of this item, "printed" means type written, electronically generated, or computer generated; and 
 
                (3) Seven percent (7%)  of the face amount of the check or five dollars ($5.00), whichever is greater, for all other checks, 
                     including handwritten payroll checks, or for money orders. 
 
 
 
 
(23) Give name and address where the license is to be sent: 
 
        Operating Name: 
 
        Contact Person: 
 
        Address:                                                                              
 
         City, State and Zip: 
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For applicants operating as a sole proprietor, complete the following: 
 
ANY FALSE OR MISLEADING ANSWERS TO ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS SHALL BE  
GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE. 
 
Signed this __________ day of __________20______ 
NOTARY PUBLIC:                  APPLICANT: 
 
____________________________________                        ____________________________________   
              (Notary’s Signature)                              (Applicant’s Signature) 
                                                                                                ____________________________________                        
_____________________________ 
             (Print Notary Name)                                                   (Print Applicant’s Name and Title)   
 
My Notary Commission expires _____________ 
 
 

 
 

For applicants operating as a corporation or LLC, complete the following: 
 

 
P R O B A T E 

 
 

IN THE STATE OF ________________________ 
                                                                                                                 
IN THE COUNTY OF ______________________ 
 
_______________________________ being duly sworn, deposes and says that he signed the foregoing application 
(Name of Person Signing Application) 
 
as _______________________________of the above named applicant, having full authority to sign such application 
    (Job Title of Person Signing Application) 
 
in said capacity; that he has read said application and that the information contained therein is true as he verily believes. 
 
 Sworn to and subscribed before me                                               _____________________________ 
                                                                                                                    (Signature of Applicant) 
 this________day of _________, 20____ 
 
_________________________________                                           ______________________________                                                                                                       
(Notary’s Signature)                                                                          Print name and Title of Applicant) 
 
____________________________________(Print Notary Name) 
 
 Notary Commission expires _____________ 
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